Their story begins in 1897 with a group of students from Turin who formed the Sports Club Juventus. It is the third-oldest group in Italy and the most successful domestically. It has won 27 titles, more than any other club in Italy, while their 9 Coppa Italia’s have been equaled only by Roma.

At first their kit was pink and black but they soon changed to black-and-white stripes as a tribute to  Notts County. In their new colors they won their first title in 1905. In 1923 Eduardo Agneli, owner of Fiat, took over the club, beginning a relationship with the Agneli family that endures to this day.

In 1926 they have won the Serie A and then took five championships in a row from 1931 to 1935. It was in this period that they also took the name “The Old Lady”. Juventus cemented their place as the great achievers of Italian football when they won nine out of 15 titles between 1972 and 1986 – and claimed all three major European trophies in the same period.

The majority of trophies came under the management of Giovaani Trapattoni, who has won 14 trophies in a ten-year spell from 1976 to 1986. During this time Platini became the only player to win the European Footballer of the Year award three times in a row, form 1983 to 1985. In 1985 Juventus won their first European Cup, beating Liverpool but the success was overshadowed by the death of 39 people before the match, 32 of which were Juve fans.

In 1990 they moved to a new stadium Stadio delle Alpi but a dry spell of 9 years followed, in which the club did not manage to win any titles. Coach Marcelo Lippi ended the dry spell in his first season at the team and went on to win the European Cup the following year.

Juventus squad in 2000-2001

In 2006 the club has been relegated for the first time in their history because of their part in the “Calciopoli” match-fixing scandal. Juventus returned immediately at their first attempt and, although struggled to challenge the title in the following years, they have managed to win the title with Antonio Conte as their manager in the 2011-2012 season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *