6. Outlander (1991)

Outlander (1991)Diana Gabaldon is the American author, born in 1952 in Arizona. He studied zoology, marine biology, oceanography, behavioral ecology, anatomy and worked as a professor at the Environmental Studies Center.

How did someone with such training and scientific leanings began to write fiction, you ask? Well, Diana Gabaldon began writing fiction in 1988, and more interested in the process itself, how to write and how to improve her writing. As a specialist in research, she decided at a historical novel, even if she did not have sufficient knowledge about history.

The idea came while watching an episode of Doctor Who and one of the characters in the film won her the necessary inspiration. Thus was born Jamie Fraser Outlander series, the action taking place in Scotland in the mid-18th century Gabaldon thought to bring a female character that is part of the story, Claire Randall.

However, while writing, the author discovered that her female character has taken control of events, with their own story and their own remarks on the modern world. To explain the attitude and behavior of today’s Claire, the author had to find an explanation, and it was time travel.

Last Chapter

An Echo in the Bone is the last chapter of the novels and it’s about time travel, about people who want to change history, about strong characters who fought for their beliefs or for love. A novel that stays with the reader long after the story is over.

Claire Randall is a time traveler. Arriving more than two hundred years ago, she falls for the rebel James Fraser, her soul mate, and decides to stay with him in his day, in the eighteenth century. Following the events that put his life in danger, their daughter, Brianna, she chooses to live in the relative safety of the twentieth century, on an old farm of her ancestors from Scotland, together with Roger, her husband and two children.

But what happened two centuries ago come alive through Claire’s letters. The fragile tabs reveal her love for Jamie Fraser, the man troubled by war, their journey by sea from North Carolina, where pirates meet and take part in naval battles. Seeking to find out more about Claire, Brianna and Roger discovers things about themselves in the Scottish mountains for families oscillate between life and death in the War of Independence of the United States of America.

5. The Harry Potter Volumes

The Harry Potter VolumesHarry Potter volumes form a very popular series worldwide; they belong to the fantasy genre and were written by British author JK Rowling. The books deal with a world of wizards, the protagonist is a young wizard named Harry Potter, along with his friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger.

The story takes place mostly in the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, a school for young wizards and magicians. The central point of the story is the conflict between Harry and the dark wizard Voldemort, who killed Harry’s parents in his quest to conquer the world of witchcraft.

Since the launch of the first volume, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone in 1997, the books have gained immense popularity and commercial success worldwide. All seven books have sold over 450 million copies, been translated into over 63 languages. The seventh and final book in the Harry Potter series, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, was released on 21 July 2007. Publishers announced a record 12 million copies sold in the United States for the first edition.

The success of her novels has made Rowling the richest author in history. English language versions of the books were published by Bloomsbury in the UK, Scholastic Press in the US, Allen & Unwin in Australia and Raincoast Books in Canada.

All seven volumes of the series were filmed by Warner Bros.

The story begins with a celebration that takes place in the witch world. For several years the world has been terrorized by a very evil sorcerer, Voldemort. The night before, on October 31, 1981, he discovers a secret location where the Potter family is hiding, by killing Lily and James Potter.

However, when he tried to kill their son, Harry Potter, the fatal spell Avada Kedavra that he cast turned on him. The body of Voldemort was destroyed, but his spirit survives, he is neither dead nor alive. The only sign of Voldemort’s spell is a lightning-shaped scar on Harry’s forehead. As the only survivor of the fatal curse, Harry is appointed by the witch community “boy who survived.”

On November 1, Hagrid, a ‘semi-giant’, leading him to Harry’s only living relatives, the Dursleys, consisting of Uncle Vernon, a tall, burly, almost no neck, but with a very rich mustache, aunt Petunia, a skinny woman with a long neck, which loathed Harry and Dudley, their son and spoiled obese. They tried in vain to cut off his magic skills, to conceal the origin of the witch world and to punish him severely after every strange accident.

However, when approaching the day when he will turn 11 years old (31 July 1991), Harry has his first contact with the magical world when he receives letters from Hogwarts School of Magic and Witchcraft, delivered by owls. However, his uncle intercepts them. For his birthday, Hagrid, Hogwarts’ Keeper of the Keys, appears and tells him that he is a wizard and is expected at school.

Each volume presents a year in Harry’s life, which happens most of the time at Hogwarts. There he learns to use magic and produce potions. Meanwhile, Voldemort returns for the second time and take control of the magical community, and Harry will face him for the last time.

4. Looking for Alaska (2005)

Looking for Alaska (2005)John Green was born on 24 August 1977. His books have been published in over twenty languages and consistently appearing in the top of best-selling titles of the newspaper New York Times.
Looking for Alaska, John Green’s debut novel, brought the author the Michael L. Printz Award given by the American Library Association and the Los Angeles Times Book Award nomination Prize.

John Green is one of the most famous authors of young fiction literature. The novel “Looking for Alaska” is divided into two parts: before and after. It will not spoil and will not tell you what it is but I can say that I was extremely excited to see what event delineate the novel and I can tell you that, after everything changes. John Green’s characters are living their adolescence intensely with madness and despair that characterizes it.

The story begins when Miles Halter, a lonely adolescent with a passion for, the last words of famous characters, goes to Culver Creek boarding school in search of the “Great Unknown”, inspired by the last words of Rabelais. Great Unknown proves to be more than Miles could have imagined. He will find friendship, love, loyalty but also loss. Alaska Young charms him from the first moment and in the process discovers a very beautiful girl, intelligent, exuberant, unpredictable and mysterious.

But I hardly heard it because my face is the sexiest girl in all of human history, dressed in jeans shorts, a shirt cut and peach. And speaking quickly and loudly, covering the Colonel.

Alaska will influence a lot on Miles and until the end of the book we’ll see him with different eyes, and we will discover sensitivity. In short, the novel captures Miles transformation of a lonely teenager in a sociable teenager with more maturity in thinking.

The novel will make us live intensely with their adventures and characters will make us laugh and cry in the same measure. I recommend this book to those who want an easy read, but it’s possible that girls will cry a little, and for the guys, you’ll probably fall in love with Alaska. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *