World Championship Titles: 15

Finishing Move: Scorpion Deathlock/ Scorpion Death Drop

Steve Borden aka Sting has won fifteen World Championships for various wrestling organizations. He’s also a WCW Triple Crown Winner and the only wrestler to win the NWA, WCW and TNA world titles during his time in the ring.

Sting showcasing his powers against Goldberg

Sting versus Goldberg, in a match that could end Goldberg’s winning streak of  143 matches. However, the unexpected happened and a wild Hogan appeared in the ring:

Sting’s World Champion Titles and other awards

Throughout his career, Sting held the titles of NWA World Champion twice (July 1990, October 2006), WCW World Heavyweight Champion for six times (February 1992, March 1993, December 1997, February 1998, April 1999 and September 1999), WCW International World Champion twice (April 1994 and May 1994), WWA World Heavyweight Champion once (December 2002) and the TNA World Heavyweight Champion four times (October 2007, October 2008, February 2011 and July 2011).

Sting was also ranked #1 on the “10 Greatest Wrestlers to never wrestle in WWE” list done by the WWE on their website:

Wrestler Sting with white and black paint on his face

Although he did wrestle once for WWF (now WWE), it was without a contract and on the last episode of WCW Monday Nitro in 2001. He won in that match against Ric Flair, using the Scorpion Deathlock, his finishing move.

Sting has two sons, Garrett Lee and Steven Jr. and a daughter, Gracie. His sons got his athletic talent, playing college football, Garrett as a running back and Steven Jr. as tight end.

Sting was voted as the “Most Popular Wrestler of the Year” by Pro Wrestling Illustrated’s readers in 1991, 1992, 1994 and 1997.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *