The most successful club in German football history, the club is based in Munich, Bavaria and has won a total of 24 national trophies and 17 national cups.

It was founded in 1900 by a team of eleven players led by Franz John, but didn’t win a national title until 1932. Since the formation of the Bundesliga, Bayern has been the dominant club in German football with 24 titles and has won 6 of the last 10 titles.

The club had its period of greatest success in the middle of the 70’s. Udo Lattek took charge in 1970 and after winning the DFB-Pokal in his first season he led Bayern to their third German championship.

The deciding match in 1971-1972 season against Shalke 04 was the first match on the ‘Olympiastadium’ and was also the first televised match in Bundesliga history. Bayern beat Shalke and thus claimed the title.

The zenith was their triumph in the 1974 European Cup Final against Atletico Madrid, which marked the club’s breakthrough as a force on the international stage.

Football club Bayern Munich in 1973

On 1 july 2013 Pep Guardiola became manager of the club ahead of the 2013-2014 season. 20 days later Bayern became the first German club with over 200.000 members.

During this year they set a series of records such as the most successive matches without defeat, breaking Hamburg’s thirty three year old record of 36 matches. This was eventually extended to 53 matches. They also became the first team to win ten consecutive UEFA Champions League matches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *